Your Cup O'Joe Might Not Be "Kosher for Passover"

As you prepare for Passover this year – a new ruling by the Orthodox Union’s "Kosher for Passover" certification program – has changed their policy which automatically, in years past, made coffee "Kosher for Passover".

"The reason for the change is that some coffee companies now add maltodextrin – which is either outright chametz [leaven, forbidden on Passover] or kitniyos [non-chametz grains banned on Passover in Ashkenazic households] – to their instant coffee…As a result…this coffee is not kosher for Passover."

"the OU will continue to issue kosher-for-Passover certification for coffees that merit it, and warns that only coffee bearing an OU-P symbol, or brands listed in the gray area of the OU’s Passover Directory, should be used. Ground coffee remains acceptable from any source as long as it is unflavored and not decaffeinated"

source: Coffee No Longer Automatically Kosher for Passover

Note: Passover begins in 10 days! The first night of Passover is Monday April 2nd. For more Passover information visit our Passover celebration – Passover on the Net



Leave a Reply

© 2014 Holidays on the Net Designed and Maintained by Studio Melizo