Passover Fact #2 – Why is Matzoh eaten during Passover

pass07.jpg

Only foods that are “Kosher for Passover” are allowed. No leavened (containing yeast) foods or grains are eaten. In their place matzoh and foods containing matzoh are eaten. This is to commemorate the Israelites who fled quickly into the desert with no time for their breads to rise and were forced to bake the dough into hard crackers in the desert sun. *

Passover begins at sundown Monday April 02, 2007

*source: Passover on the Net – The Passover Seder



Leave a Reply

© 2014 Holidays on the Net Designed and Maintained by Studio Melizo