Did You Know? Countdown to Diwali (10/17)


Did You Know?
Facts, Figures & Folklore
About Diwali, the Hindu
Festival of Light

Oct 17 : 09 days to Diwali

Did you know that there are five days of Diwali, each with its own unique traditions and mythologies?

Diwali is a five-day Hindu holiday and is celebrated with each day signifying a particular aspect of the festival. The five days are:

Day 1: Dhanteras (Oct. 24)
Day 2: Choti Diwali (Oct. 25)
Day 3: Lakshmi Puja / Diwali (Oct. 26)
Day 4: Padwa & Govardhan Puja (Oct. 27)
Day 5: Bhai Duj (Oct. 28)

The third day is the pinnacle of the festival, when families light their oil lamps (divas, diyas) to illuminate the world with knowledge.

Diwali, or the “festival of lights” is celebrated by Hindus across India and the huge Hindu diaspora spread all over the world. This multi-day festival, whose name literally means “row of lighted lamps“, is celebrated with great fervor and enthusiasm and is the most important Hindu festival on the annual calendar. Join us as we present a new “Did You Know?” fact each day as we countdown to Diwali.

Diwali begins Wednesday October 26, 2011.

Signup for our Did You Know? Holiday Countdown emails or follow us on Twitter – twitter.com/holidaysnet (@holidaysnet)

Leave a Reply

© 2017 Holidays on the Net Designed and Maintained by Studio Melizo